On Wheat and Flour

Exciting things have been happening recently. Along with family, we are starting a business selling dog treats that are biologically appropriate for dogs. It is very important to me that the correct ingredients are used and that they won’t harm the dogs in any way. I make my own treats and have been using coconut flour as it is grain free and goes a long way. After reading Jean Dodd’s book, Canine Nutrigenomics, it highlighted even more the dangers of using gluten based flours for dogs. So, I started researching about other flours to see what was out there. I came across this link: http://www.wheat-free.org/wheat-free-gluten-free-alternative-flours.html. Now I always like to look at lots of different sources of information so I get a balanced view. I don’t take anything at face value. It amazed me just what they can make flour out of!

After much searching for products and looking at prices, I went for the Aramanth Flour. I like the fact that it is high in protein, however I will use other flours for dogs that need a low protein diet for health reasons. One thing I have learnt from trying different flours, is that you need to do lots of practicing! Not all flours react the same when added to other ingredients. Coconut flour, for example, is used sparingly as it soaks up a lot of the moisture.

So what exactly is the problem with wheat based flours? The following is an extract from Canine Nutrigenomics:

Gluten is what holds bread together and makes it rise. Gluten is linked to a whole host of serious health conditions in people and dogs…But your dog doesn’t have to have wheat sensitive enteropathy to suffer from the harmful effects of gluten. A less obvious, low-grade autoimmune reaction to gluten can trigger a wildfire of chronic inflammation that affects every organ system in the body, including the brain, heart, joints and digestive tract (Hyman 2013). It can even create an immune response that causes subclinical brain inflammation, resulting in age-related dementia (Perricone, 2010).

While this is only a snippet, this is one of the reasons why I choose not to feed my dog gluten based flours or gluten based food at all.

Do your own research and come up with your own conclusions.

For more information, go to www.thepossiblecanine.com or http://drjeandoddspethealthresource.tumblr.com/

I will be doing a series on different ingredients in the near future, so check back soon!

To view our products and our articles, go to www.holistichounds.org.uk

Leave a Reply

